A Letter to Good Readers

...god I look like a serial killer sometimes

…god I look like a serial killer sometimes

Dear readers

There are a few familiar faces and names I see rolling through here every week, and that is pretty amazing. I started this blog with the intent to post a piece of a story here every week. I had a strong start in the Summer, but when school started again this Fall I had to yield my time and efforts to the call.

I became a guerrilla writer for this site, posting only when time allowed. In the Summer I was happy to see people coming back, but after my regularity slipped I wasn’t expecting many to return. So when I wrote sporadically and saw a few check in again and again it made me happy, and genuinely so. There’s a satisfaction in knowing that a few people out there read what I have to say once in awhile, and have valued the time I spent writing for them enough to come back.

I want to thank those of you who take the time to read what I have to write, whether you’ve been with me since the beginning, or are just getting to know me. I very much appreciate it, and it means a lot to me when I see a handful of “likes” on the page every week. It’s oddly gratifying. For my part I will continue to try and compose quality thought, and when I step up to the writer’s box I want to make sure that every at-bat means something to me. I never want to phone it in. To me that means treating writing and thinking like arduous work when in fact it is a pleasure to engage those faculties.

The only thing I would ask of you who read with some regularity, is to forgive me when I seem full of myself (it happens quite a bit), and to give me a chance to get to know you as well. If any of you have a question you’d like to ask me, about myself or my work, I would be happy to answer, and that goes for any post. For my part, I will try and be a better reader myself and to visit other people’s pages more often, and to engage with others in the same way I am asking you to engage with me. I see a healthy writing community here, and I am just beginning my exploration really, which is exciting, and genuinely so.

Thank you,

David Puerner

Leave a Reply

